Since the LuxLeaks scandal in 2014, there has been an almost daily diet of new corruption scandals involving the exposure of large corporations evading tax on a grand scale. The Commission responded by introducing a raft of measures against tax dumping at the end of January. But that is too little, as shown by a new report published by the Green parliamentary group which has shone the spotlight on IKEA’s dubious tax structures.

It seems that IKEA has structured its business in such a way that it is possible for the company to funnel hundreds of millions in profits through various EU tax havens, thereby ensuring that this money remains exempt from taxation until it arrives in Liechtenstein, one of the biggest tax havens in Europe.

What it takes to steer clear of paying billions in tax

IKEA runs over 300 branches worldwide, operates two secret foundations, uses four tax havens, has a well disposed tax authority in the Netherlands and a tax deal with Luxembourg up its sleeve.IKEA_Twitter_440x220

IKEA purports to consist of two independent groups: the IKEA Group and the Inter IKEA Group. The corporation pays interest to itself under this guise and can reduce its overall tax bill in this way.

IKEA Group and Inter IKEA Group therefore act as if they were two independent corporate units, disguising their affiliation in order to save tax.

From 1991 to 2014 the Inter IKEA Group managed, through the vehicle of a Dutch conduit company, to avoid paying tax on 84 per cent of the staggering 14.3 billion euro income from interest. These receipts of 14.3 billion euro in interest are taken by IKEA branches all over the world. And tax is paid on only a fraction of it in Europe.Ikea2

The secret foundations and the crafty group structure make it very difficult to follow IKEA’s activities. The large-scale enterprise keeps its payee accounts under wraps. Nevertheless, there are many indications that the money is funnelled through the Netherlands and Luxembourg to Liechtenstein and through other tax havens with very low rates of taxation. IKEA pays tax at a rate of just 0.09 per cent in Luxembourg, for example, thanks to tax deals.

IKEA uses the Dutch legal system like a revolving door, with interest fees entering the country untaxed and leaving it again in a different untaxed form. In their final destination of Liechtenstein the shares in profit of the foreign companies are then completely exempt from taxation. And IKEA saves itself billions because the channelling of the interest from every IKEA branch into the Netherlands is estimated to have cost the EU countries one billion euro since 2009.

In 2014 alone, eight EU countries lost out on 162.2 million euro in tax through this evasive practice – Austria, for example, was deprived of four million euro in tax.

The example of IKEA shows how difficult it is to expose tax fraud when a gigantic company negotiates tax deals, cultivates secrecy and exploits tax havens. The only countermeasures which can help are as follows:

1) Tax harmonisation: corporations must be subject to the same rate of taxation all over Europe and disclose their finances.

2) Transparency about the activities of multinationals

3) The European Council must agree a package of measures which will close tax loopholes in Europe for good.

4) National and European authorities must launch open inquiries into corporations and their taxation practices, as has happened in the past.

The anti-dumping package of the Commission allows IKEA and other multinationals to keep exploiting tax loopholes. It appears to ignore the reality of the tax competition between the EU countries. The Commission must point the finger at these methods practised by IKEA and inform the public.

Read the full report here.

 

Posted by Michel Reimon

unspecified

Seit dem Luxleaks-Skandal 2014 tauchen fast täglich neue Korruptionsskandale auf, in denen Großkonzerne Steuergeld im großen Stil hinterziehen. Die Kommission hat deswegen Ende Jänner ein Maßnahmenpaket gegen Steuerdumping präsentiert. Aber das ist zu wenig. Das zeigt ein neuer Bericht der Grünen Fraktion, die IKEAs dubiose Steuerkonstruktionen durchleuchtet hat.

Und das sieht so aus: IKEA hat seine Geschäftsstruktur so aufgebaut, dass es ihnen möglich ist, hunderte Millionen an Gewinnen durch diverse EU-Steueroasen zu schleusen. So wird sichergestellt, dass dieses Geld steuerfrei bleibt, bis es in Liechtenstein ankommt, einer der größten Steueroasen in Europa.

Was es braucht, um Steuergelder in Milliardenhöhe zu umschiffen

IKEA betreibt weltweit über 300 Filialen, zwei geheime Stiftungen, nutzt vier Steueroasen, hat eine wohlgesinnte Steuerbehörde in den Niederlanden und einen Steuerdeal mit Luxemburg im Ärmel.IKEA_Twitter_440x220

Das Unternehmen IKEA gibt vor, aus zwei unabhängigen Gruppen zu bestehen: Der IKEA Group und der Inter IKEA Group. Unter diesem Deckmantel zahlt der Konzern Zinsen an sich selbst, und kann so seine Gesamtbesteuerung reduzieren.

IKEA Group und Inter IKEA Group tun also so, als wären sie zwei unabhängige Unternehmenseinheiten. So verschleiern sie ihre Zusammengehörigkeit, um Steuern zu sparen.

Von 1991 bis 2014 hat die Inter IKEA Gruppe unter Rückgriff auf ein niederländisches Leitunternehmen vermeiden können, 84 Prozent der 14,3 Milliarden Euro schweren Zinseinnahmen zu versteuern. Diese 14,3 Milliarden Euro Zinsen werden von IKEA- Filialen weltweit eingenommen. Und nur Bruchteile davon werden in Europa versteuert.Ikea2

Durch die geheimen Stiftungen und die gefinkelte Konzernstruktur ist es sehr schwer, IKEAs Aktivitäten nachzuvollziehen. So hält das Großunternehmen seine Empfängerkonten unter Verschluss. Dennoch deutet vieles darauf hin, dass das Geld  durch die Niederlande und Luxemburg nach Liechtenstein und andere Steueroasen mit sehr geringen Steuersätzen geschleust wird. So zahlt IKEA dann dank Steuerdeals in Luxemburg nur 0,09 Prozent Steuern.

IKEA verwendet das niederländische Rechtssystem als Schleuse: Zinsgebühren kommen unversteuert ins Land und verlassen es wieder in einer anderen unversteuerten Form. In der Endstation Liechtenstein sind die Gewinnanteile der ausländischen Unternehmen dann überhaupt komplett steuerfrei. Und IKEA spart sich Milliarden: Das Schleusen der Zinsen von jeder IKEA-Filiale in die Niederlande hat die EU-Staaten seit 2009 schätzungsweise eine Milliarde Euro gekostet.

Durch diese Steuerumgehung sind alleine im Jahr 2014 acht EU-Staaten um 162,2 Millionen Euro Steuergeld umgefallen – Österreich ist so vier Millionen Euro Steuergeld entgangen.

Am Beispiel IKEA sehen wir, wie schwierig es ist, Steuerhinterziehung aufzudecken, wenn ein gigantisches Unternehmen Steuerdeals aushandelt, Geheimhaltung pflegt und Steueroasen ausnutzt. Dagegen helfen hilft nur:

1) Steuerharmonisierung: Konzerne müssen europaweit gleich versteuert werden und ihre Finanzen offenlegen.  

2) Transparenz über die Aktivitäten multinationaler Konzerne

3) Der Europäische Rat muss ein Paket beschließen, das Steuerlöcher in Europa endgültig stopft

4) Nationale und europäische Behörden müssen offene Untersuchungen gegen Großkonzerne und deren Steuerpraxis einleiten, wie das in der Vergangenheit bereits getan wurde.

Das Anti-Steuerdumping-Paket der Kommission erlaubt IKEA und anderen multinationalen Konzernen weiterhin Steuerlöcher zu nutzen. Es scheint die Realität des Steuerwettbewerbs zwischen den EU-Ländern zu ignorieren. Die Kommission muss genau auf diese Praxis, die IKEA betreibt, den Finger legen und die Öffentlichkeit informieren.

Hier gehts weiter zum Bericht:

 http://www.greens-efa.eu/corporate-tax-avoidance-15176.html

Veröffentlicht von Michel Reimon